VLV Awards for Excellence 2021

Now in their 30th year, the VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting were held on 23rd June 2022 at the Geological Society in central London presented by Steve Punt, comedy writer, comedian, actor, and co-presenter of BBC Radio 4’s satirical news programme, The Now Show.


We were delighted that so many of the winners were able to attend including Andrew Marr, Sean Rafferty, Katie Derham, Bill Nighy, Clive Myrie, Mark Steel and Chris Mason.


Celebrating television and radio/audio that contributed to broadcasting excellence in 2021, the awards are nominated and voted for by VLV’s members, the listeners and viewers, making them all the more meaningful to those broadcasters who receive them.


At the Awards VLV announced that it will be launching a new social media campaign to #SaveOurBroadcasting.  VLV wants everyone to be aware of the huge value of high quality British public service broadcasting. It aims provide content relevant and beneficial to all UK citizens at a relatively low cost in comparison with streaming services. If you compare the range and quality of content we have in the UK with other countries, it makes you realise how lucky we are. VLV is concerned that UK broadcasting is going to be eroded if new government policies are implemented which will make our system increasingly more commercial. 

You can watch the full video of the awards by clicking on the image below.


Television Awards

Best TV Drama 2021 

It’s a Sin 

Channel 4

Best TV Arts/Entertainment Programme 2021

Great Paintings of the World with Andrew Marr 

Channel 5


Best TV News and Factual Programme 2021 

Blair & Brown: The New Labour Revolution


Best Children’s TV Programme 2021

The World According to Grandpa

Milkshake, Channel 5 

Best TV Contributor 2021

Clive Myrie

Radio Awards

Best Radio Comedy 2021 

Mark Steel’s in Town

BBC Radio 4

Best  Radio Drama 2021

A Charles Paris Mystery: A Deadly Habit

BBC Radio 4

Best Radio News and Factual Programme 2021

The Week in Westminster

BBC Radio 4 

Best Radio Music and Arts Programme 2021

In Tune

BBC Radio 3

Best Contributor to Audio 2021

Chris Mason

Award for Innovation 

BBC Natural History Unit 

Naomi Sargant Award 2021

Jackie Edwards

You can download a full list of the winners and nominations here. 

The VLV Awards 2021 were supported by

Arqiva Logo PNG small

If you want to join VLV in its work to ensure a future for public service broadcasting join here. Membership rates start from £10 a year.