VLV Awards for Excellence 2022

Now in their 31st year, the VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting were held on 29th November 2023 at the Geological Society in central London presented by Helen Boaden, former Chief Executive of BBC News and of BBC Radio.

We were delighted to see so many of the winners at the ceremony, including broadcasters Evan Davis, Graeme Garden, Jon Naismith, Anna Home, Chair of the Children’s Media Foundation, Alan Hall, Producer of File on Four,  and Catherine Stirk, Series Producer of HM Queen’s Funeral coverage.

Celebrating television and radio/audio that contributed to broadcasting excellence in 2022, the awards are nominated and voted for by VLV’s members, the listeners and viewers, making them all the more meaningful to those broadcasters who receive them.

You can download a full list of the winners and nominations here

You can watch a video of the full awards ceremony by clicking on the photo above or here.


Television Awards

Best TV Drama 2022 

This is Going to Hurt 


Best TV Arts/Entertainment Programme 2022

The Repair Shop 



Best TV News and Factual Programme 2022 

Coverage of the Death and Funeral of HM The Queen 


Best TV Contributor 2022

Steve Rosenberg

Radio Awards

Best Radio Comedy 2022

I’m Sorry I Haven’t a Clue

BBC Radio 4

Best  Radio Drama 2022

Churchill Versus Reith

BBC Radio 3

Best Radio News and Factual Programme 2022

Archive on Four 

BBC Radio 4 

Best Radio Music and Arts Programme 2022

Choral Evensong

BBC Radio 3

Best Contributor to Audio 2021

Evan Davis

Special Awards

Contribution to Children’s Broadcasting 2022

The Children’s Media Foundation

Naomi Sargant Award 2022

The Martin Lewis Money Show

Contribution to Public Service Broadcasting

Jon Snow


The VLV Awards 2021 were supported by the Broadcast 2040+ Coalition