VLV Awards for Excellence 2023

Now in their 32nd year, the VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting were held on 24th April 2024 at the Geological Society in central London presented by broadcaster Clive Myrie with VLV President Tony Hall, Lord Hall of Birkenhead CBE. 


We were delighted to see so many of the winners at the ceremony, including broadcasters Jeremy Bowen and Matthew Banister, Jon Culshaw and Jan Ravens of Dead Ringers, Petroc Trewlawny, the Director of drama A Spy Among Friends, Nicky Murphy and Rebecca Atkinson, creator of children’s programme Mixmups


Celebrating television and audio that contributed to broadcasting excellence in 2023, the awards are nominated and voted for by VLV’s members, the listeners and viewers, making them all the more meaningful to those broadcasters who receive them.

You can watch a video of the awards ceremony by clicking on the picture below. 

You can download a full list of the winners and nominations here


Television Awards

Best TV Drama 2023 

A Spy Among Friends 


Best TV Arts/Entertainment Programme 2023

The Piano

Channel 4


Best TV News and Factual Programme 2023 

Union with David Olusoga 


Best TV Contributor 2023

Jeremy Bowen

Radio Awards

Best Radio Comedy 2023

Dead Ringers

BBC Radio 4

Best  Radio Drama 2023

Behind Beyond The Fringe

BBC Radio 4

Best Radio News and Factual Programme 2023

Last Word

BBC Radio 4 

Best Radio Music and Arts Programme 2022

Breakfast with Petroc Trelawny

BBC Radio 3

Best Contributor to Audio 2023

Mishal Husain

Special Awards

Best Children’s Programme 2023


Channel 5 Milkshake!

Naomi Sargant Award 2023

Melvyn Bragg, Lord Bragg CH