VLV Awards for programmes broadcast in 2016

The VLV Awards for Excellence in Broadcasting 2016 were presented to celebrate many aspects of television and radio with programmes, individuals and channels nominated and voted for by VLV members – their viewers and listeners.

The winners included The Night Manager, Planet Earth II, Channel 4’s Paralympics coverage, Today and I’m Sorry I haven’t a Clue.

The awards also honoured Sir David Attenborough, Ade Adepitan and Steve Hewlett.

Individual Awards were presented to Sir David Attenborough, the late Steve Hewlett and Helen Boaden.

On receiving his award David Attenborough commented “This is a unique award in my experience – there are very few which is actually a pure, untainted look at quality. There are so many awards which other factors come into, but this comes from people who enjoy broadcasting and have their own agenda as to what makes something good. This is a unique award and I treasure it very much.”

bary cryer (2)
Sir David Attenborough and Sir Tony Robinson
awards 2016 award winners April 2017
awards 2016 Kirsie Lang Front Row (3)

Ade Adepitan was awarded the Naomi Sargant award for education and sent a specially recorded message of thanks which you can view here

Helen Boaden joined the awards via skype from the USA saying “I loved watching this ceremony. It represents everything I deeply care about in public service broadcasting. It represents a commitment to quality, a commitment to diversity of every sort, radio, television and online: people, personalities, types of programmes and what underlines it all is a profoundly democratic spirit. I love the fact that John Reith said early in his career that he wanted the best of everything in everyone’s homes and that really is what has always motivated me – that deep democratic spirit…”


After the cermeony, Colin Browne, Chairman of VLV, said “Despite the huge challenges and seismic changes in the broadcasting industry, these awards demonstrate that 2016 was a stellar year creatively, providing a range of quality and diverse programmes for listeners and viewers. The winners include some of the greatest names in broadcasting, alongside exciting newcomers. We know they really appreciate awards voted by listeners and viewers; we in turn are grateful for the pleasure they bring us.”



Best Drama Programme The Night Manager   BBC/ The Ink Factory 

Best TV News and Factual Programme Planet Earth II   BBC One picture

Best TV Children’s Programme Horrible Histories  CBBC/ Lion Television

Best TV Arts and Entertainment Programme University Challenge BBC Two

Best TV Individual Contributor Sir David Attenborough OM CH CVO CBE picture


Best Drama and Comedy Programme I’m Sorry I Haven’t a Clue  BBC Radio 4 picture

Best Radio News and Factual Programme Today   BBC Radio 4

Best Music and Arts Programme Front Row  BBC Radio 4 picture

Best individual contributor to Radio the late Steve Hewlett

Special Awards

The Naomi Sargant Award – Ade Adepitan

The VLV Award for Innovation – Channel 4’s coverage of the Rio Paralympics picture

The VLV Special Award – Helen Boaden

The full list of nominees can be read here